National Society
Daughters of the American Revolution

US Flag

Independence County Chapter


Organized October 14, 1977

Chapter History

Independence County Chapter was organized October 14, 1977.
"Independence County" was chosen as the chapter name because it is the only county in the United States with that name. The county, ninth in the state, was established by the Arkansas Territorial Legislature meeting at Arkansas Post on October 20, 1820. Independence County was named after the Declaration of Independence. It was said to have been settled by pioneers as independent as the Declaration!

Voted one of the 100 best small towns in the US

view of Batesville

Batesville, Arkansas

Chapter Officers

REGENTEleanor Royer
VICE REGENT Cecilia Baker
SECRETARY Katherine Altom
TREASURER Ruth Ashcraft
CHAPLAIN Cecilia Baker
HISTORIANKristie Kennedy
LIBRARIAN Katherine Whittenton

arkansas map

Contact Us!

Questions about the Independence County Chapter ?

Click here!


ASDAR and NSDAR buttons created by Dayna Trembley Hilton

Website last updated May 22, 2018.
For comments on this webpage, contact the Webmaster.

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility
of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.