National Society
of the American Revolution

Jonesboro Chapter

Jonesboro, Arkansas

Organized December 22, 1928

Chapter History

The Jonesboro Chapter, NSDAR has members from Randolph,
Greene, Poinsett, Clay and Craighead Counties.
The chapter supports, with contributions of genealogical
material and volunteers, the Craighead County-Jonesboro
Public Library's genealogy department. The chapter was
organized by Mrs. Myrtle Kyle Lockhart Sloan, who had joined
the Little Rock Chapter in 1904. As Organizing Regent,
Mrs. Sloan gave the chapter its name.

The Chapter, organized December 22, 1928, selected the name of its home city,
the County Sear of Craighead County. The names of both Jonesboro and Craighead
were the result of the differences between two Arkansas Senators in the meeting
of the State Legislature in the Fall of 1858. Senator William A. Jones of
St. Francis and Poinsett Counties maneuvered to have the county names for
Senator Thomas B. Craighead, who then reciprocated by managing to get the
County Seat named for Senator Jones (Jonesborough)--later changed to the
present spelling.

Chapter Officers

REGENT Elizabeth Parsons
VICE REGENTBarbara Dacus
TREASURERPatricia Blake
CHAPLAINVerneal Montgomery
REGISTRAR Gale Markley
LIBRARIAN Bettye Gibson

DAR Constitution Hall in Washington DC


NSDAR Motto: "God, Home and Country"


The Hub - A Daughter's loyal heart;

Each Spoke - A thought of those who part;

The Rim - A noble life's bright round;

Each Star - A deed in Heaven's profound;

The Distaff - A guide that points above;

Each Flaxen Thread - A cord of love.

For information about the Jonesboro Chapter


ASDAR and NSDAR buttons created by Dayna Trembley Hilton


Jonesboro, Arkansas
Home of Arkansas State University

For Information

Website last updated October 3, 2015.
For comments on this webpage, contact

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility
of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.

The DAR insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted
by, the National Society of the Daughters of the American