Clinton Library

Gilbert Marshall Chapter, NSDAR

Welcome to Little Rock, Arkansas!

Photo of the Clinton Library provided by the Division of Arkansas Tourism

Welcome to the Gilbert Marshall Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, chartered in Little Rock, Arkansas!

Chapter Gilbert Marshall is dedicated to the National Society’s focus of patriotism, historical preservation and education. Formed in 1913, the Organizing Regent was Mrs. Thomas Dwight Crawford.

The name Gilbert Marshall was chosen to honor the ancestor of Mrs. Crawford. Gilbert Marshall of Albermarle County, Virginia was the father of John Marshall, 20, who entered the Revolution on April 11, 1776, as an ensign in Colonel Samuel Miles’ Pennsylvania Militia, and retired as captain in 1783.

In 2011 NSDAR Chapter Basil Gaither joined with Chapter Gilbert Marshall. The Centennial Celebration of the Chapter founding was held June 6, 2013 at the MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History.

Little Rock is the capital and most populous city in the state of Arkansas. As the county seat of Pulaski County, the city was incorporated on November 7, 1831, on the south bank of the Arkansas River close to the state’s geographic center. The city derived its name from a rock formation along the river, named the “Little Rock” (French: La Petite Roche) by the French explorer Jean-Baptiste Bénard de la Harpe in the 1720s. The capital of the Arkansas Territory was moved to Little Rock in 1821.

Membership Information

Any woman is eligible for membership who is eighteen years of age and can prove lineal, blood line descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence. Documentation must be verified to prove direct descent from a patriot. Source documents include birth, marriage, and death records, etc. Admission to membership in the NSDAR is either through a local chapter in the state organization (or overseas unit) or as a member-at-large.

Gilbert Marshall Chapter Patriots

Joseph Andrews
Robert Arthur
Thomas Arthur
John Ashcraft
John Atkinson
Elias Baker
James Barham Jr
Adam Barnes
Alexander Barnett
Elisha Battle
Andrew Beard
Spencer Benson
Lewis Bobo
Vivian Brooking
John Camp
John Cantley
Robert Carson
Howard Cash
William Cathey
Joel Chandler
Comfort Clark
John Cole
Joseph Collard
John Colquitt
David Craig
William Crowson
Josiah Crudup
Wilson Curle
Hezekiah Davis
Peter Doty
Abraham Durham
Hezekiah Elgin
William Elgin
John Ellison
Gabriel Enoch
Richard Fancher
Thomas Flippen
Jedediah Garrison
James Gay
George Gibson
John Grinter

William Gurley
Hugh Gwinn
Augustine Austin Hackworth
William A Halbert
Elijah Hammond
Andrew Hampton
Jonathan Harding
James Harrison
James Henry
Samuel High
John Hillhouse
John Holbrook
Isaac Holmes
Henry Horn Sr
Adonijah Houghton
Nathaniel House
Robert Huddleston
Joel Huntley
Jean Baptiste Imbeau
Johnathan Ingersoll
Charles James
John W Key Jr
Martin Key Sr
Thomas Kincaid
George Kohl
Benjamin Kolb
Joseph Lemasters
James Lewis
Benjamin Liles
John Linder
John Lockhart
John Mahan
Wynant Mantle
James Marks
Alexander Mathes Jr
Alexander Mathes Sr
Alexander Mcalexander
Mathew Mccauley
Joseph Mcconnell
James Mcmahon
Moses Mead
Thomas Meredith

Edward Moore
William Moore
Adam Neal
Lemuel Newcomb
Samuel Norwood
Charles Park
Matthew Patten Sr
Samuel Paxton
Nathaniel Pearre
John Penland
John Poage Sr
Nathan Porter
Moses Powell Jr
Richard Price
Israel Putnam Sr
Eliab Richmond
James Riggs
Charles Riley/Raley
Samuel Robinson
Stephen Rogers
Samuel Scott
William Scurlock
William Shackelford
Richard Shreve
William Shreve
George Simms
William Alexander Sloan
Francis Summers
Frederick Swearingen
Benjamin Thomas
Joseph Timberlake
John Tollett
Benjamin Tomlinson
William Tongue/Tong
Augustine Washington
Basil Wheat
Conrod Wilhoit
William Wilkins
Roger Williams
Clifford Woodruff

“Patriotism is not a short and frenzied outburst of emotion, but the tranquil and steady dedication of a lifetime.”

Adlai Stevenson II