DAR ladies on old fire truck in Independence Day Parade

Marion Chapter, NSDAR

Welcome to Fayetteville, Arkansas!

Photo: Members of Marion Chapter in 4th of July parade

Welcome to the Marion Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, chartered in Fayetteville, Arkansas!

The chapter was organized December 7, 1910. The Marion Chapter of Fayetteville, Arkansas was named in honor of General Francis Marion, who was commissioned Brigadier General of the state troops of South Carolina by Governor Rutledge. Gen. Marion received the thanks of Congress for gallantry at the battle of Eutah Springs. This name was chosen because of the organizing regent’s admiration of General Marion.

Mrs. Richard B. Willis (Mary Jasper) was Organizing Regent. There were 12 organizing members: Mrs. Mary M. Stone Albright, Miss Amanda Stone, Miss Georgia Norman, Mrs. Olivia Norman Floyd, Mrs. Nathan B. William, Mrs. Adele Stearns, Mrs. Fannie Woody, Mrs. George H. Parsons, Miss Margaret Galloway, Mrs. Richard B. Willis, Mrs. Jean Tappan de Roulac and Miss Edith Black. Records of the chapter from 1910 to 1915 have been lost.

The Chapter members celebrated their 100 year anniversary with a ceremony in 2010.

The chapter endeavors to promote and foster true patriotism and love of country by observing Memorial Day at the National Cemetery in Fayetteville and by supporting activities at the Veterans Hospital. Other activities include recognizing the outstanding R.O.T.C. cadets at the University of Arkansas, giving DAR Good Citizenship awards to outstanding local students in Fayetteville and surrounding towns, and presenting history awards to grade school students.

The Marion Chapter has a meeting the second Saturday of each month, from September through May, at 11:00 a.m.

RegentSamantha Stocker
Vice RegentChristina Twardowski
ChaplainKaren Hendrix
Recording SecretaryDebra McDonald
Corresponding SecretaryKatherine Young
TreasurerAlma Diemer
RegistrarAimee Henson
HistorianCheri Coley
LibrarianPamela Redfern
Second Vice RegentKristina Holder

Kristiana Baxter, who is a Junior member of Marion Chapter, prepares donations for the “Little Food Pantries.”

Marion Chapter endeavors to promote and foster true patriotism and love of country.

Marion Chapter Members
Members of Marion Chapter, NSDAR with donations